Back to Parents

Set of Spelling Log Books 1A, 1B, 2A and 2B


Spelling Books for Year 1 & Year 2 (Set of 4)

Improve progress with Monster Phonics Spelling Books. Four books are included in this set. Each shows colour-coded spelling lists for every spelling in Year 1 and Year 2.

Traditional ways of learning to spell can be time-consuming and for some children they are ineffective. Monster Phonics is colour-coded for sound to accelerate learning.

The colour coding of the spelling books is aligned with the Monster Phonics programme which recognises that children learn differently. It provides different memory cues for multiple ways of learning.

What is Monster Phonics?
The 26 letters of the alphabet and combinations of these letters make 44 speech sounds in English.
The 44 sounds (phonemes) are spelt by 144 different letter combinations (graphemes). For example, the sound A is spelt 5 different ways ay (play), ai (train).
Monster Phonics categorises sounds into 10 areas and uses the Monsters as a categorisation. Each monster has a different colour. That colour represents that way of spelling the sound.

Why does it improve learning?
Children learn through the assignment of colour and the linkage of the sound, as well as seeing the colour, creating more ways of remembering the spelling.

Year 2 – Book 2

Year 1 – Book 1A and Book 1B

In addition, Monster Phonics Apps are useful home learning support and can be downloaded here from the iTunes store


Categories: ,


There are 4 Spelling Log Books

Year 1 – Book 1A and Book 1B

Year 2 – Book 2 and Book2B

This set contains one copy of each book. This is particularly useful for parents wishing to provide additional support

Each logbook shows colour-coded spelling lists for every grapheme in the Spelling Curriculum. Word lists have been carefully selected to include the most common words for every grapheme.

Colour-coded for sound to accelerate learning, the Monster Phonics log books cover all KS1 graphemes, spelling rules, high-frequency and common exception words.